The June 29th Links E-zine

These are some of the interesting items I found online this week:

  • Interested in seeing – or better yet, searching – a panoramic view of Cincinnati in 1848? The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County has an annotated electronic copy of the historic Fontaine and Porter daguerreotype online! I love this scene because it shows how Cincinnati appeared to my German ancestors when they arrived at about that time. Note: be sure to click the small dots that bring up points of interest and then read the fascinating information in the boxes that open.
  • I think I copied all of the records pertaining to my ancestors when I visited the National Archives in Washington DC, but Fold3 is placing images of War of 1812 Pension Applications directly online. And you can access these for free. The whole War of 1812 collection is also free through tomorrow or you may use the $30 coupon (which also expires tomorrow) in honor of the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812 toward a full membership (normally $79.95). As of 6/26 there was also a 7-day free trial to access everything advertised. (Please note that only 3% of the 1812 pension applications have been uploaded.)
  • Ever wonder how your ancestors started at Point A in these United States and ended up at Point B? Often, they traveled roads. Well, we would consider them little more than trails today, but the eastern colonies-turned-states were criss-crossed by a series of migratory overland routes. GenealogyBlog posted a wonderful map showing those routes and their names. It also contained a concise description of the history of the Scots-Irish in America which might be of particular interest to those whose roots reach into North Carolina and Tennessee like mine do. But even if you do not have Scots-Irish ancestry you might receive vital clues as to ancestral travels and where to search for documentation left while making the journey just by viewing the map.
  • I missed the 2012 National Genealogical Society Family History Conference which is a real shame since it was held in my neighborhood a few weeks ago! Perhaps I’ll plan to attend the 2013 since it was recently announced that it is scheduled to be held in my daughter’s neighborhood next May. Read the press release.
  • Are you a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution? Would you like to take our genealogy classes? I always wanted to take the classes while I was our chapter registrar but the times and locations never fit into my schedule. That is no longer a problem! Members may now take the courses online. Each course (there are 2) must be completed within 90 days of registration (that means each separate course, not both together). I plan to take Course 1 this fall. I consider the DAR application requirements to be the Gold Standard when it comes to proof of lineage and am looking forward to discovering a few tips that can help me be a better Lineage Research chair for my chapter.

Did you see anything particularly interesting this week in the world of history and genealogy that we should not miss?

About pitman6

I love genealogy! I also love helping others trace their genealogy. I am a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Society of Mayflower Descendants, and a volunteer researcher with the Hamilton County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society.
This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's Talk History and Genealogy!

